
COUNTY OF HANOVER, VIRGINIA 

APPLICATION FOR CONTRACTOR’S LICENSE 
TAX YEAR 2017 
Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue 
PO Box 129, Hanover, VA 23069 
Tel: (804) 365-6129 Fax: (804) 365-6101 

                     Email: commissioner@hanovercounty.gov 
    

 

FILE BY MARCH 1 - Instructions & Fee Schedule on back of form 
 

Account# 

 

SSN Or Federal ID Number Fax # Business Phone# 

Owner’s Name 
 

                        
 

Locality In Which Business Is Located 

 

Trade Name 
 

Physical Address Of Business 
 

Mailing Address 
 

Contact Person 
 

City/ State / Zip 

 

Virginia State Registration Number 

 
  

Type of Contractor  

 

Amount of Gross Receipts  
(Col A.) 

 
Tax Rate 
(Col B.)  

 
= Total 

( Col A. x Col. B ) 

I Hanover Contractor  X .001 
 
 

II Other Localities: total column B 
from reverse side if applicable 

 X .001 
 
 

III Total (add lines I & II)  X .001 
 
 

IV Penalty:  If filed after March 1, 10% of line III ………………………………………………… 
 

V Interest due if applicable. See page 2 for instructions …………………………………….. 
 

VI GRAND TOTAL: add lines IV – V ...............…………………..…………………………….….. 
 
 

 
Please Note: 

 If you are not State Registered as a Class A, B, or C Contractor, you must sign an affidavit stating that you are not 
subject to licensure or certification as a contractor or subcontractor pursuant to Virginia State Code §54.1-1111. 

 In order to process your license, a Worker’s Compensation form must be completed and your payment made 
payable to County of Hanover must be included.  This is not necessary if gross receipts are under $100,000.00. 
Forms are available online at www.hanovercounty.gov/Taxes/Business-Licenses. 

 

I hereby declare that the statements and figures herein given are true, full and correct to the best of my 
knowledge and belief. I acknowledge the Worker’s Compensation requirements as stated above. 
 
Signature of Applicant:         Date:        
 
Name of Applicant:         Daytime Phone:      
 
Title:         Email:          
 
 
 

OFFICE USE ONLY BELOW THIS LINE 
 

W/C Received? (Circle One) Y N      
 
Check #     
 
Amount $     

T. Scott Harris, MCR 
Commissioner 



 
If you are a Hanover based contractor with gross receipts in other localities, please complete the 
following worksheet and report the TOTAL of COLUMN B on PAGE 1, LINE II. 
 

Locality of Gross Receipts 

Was a fee paid to obtain a license in another locality? 
 
COLUMN A: If YES, list the amount 
of gross receipts against which the 
fee was paid to the other locality. 

 
COLUMN B: If NO, list the 
amount of gross receipts against 
which no fee was paid to the 
other locality. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Total: Transfer TOTAL of COLUMN B to PAGE 1, LINE II. 
 

 
INSTRUCTIONS & COST SCHEDULES 

 
Pursuant to Virginia State Code §58.1-2700 et seq, every contractor, electrical contractor, plumber or steam fitter shall 
obtain a license for each business.  If the gross receipts of the business exceed $100,000 in the prior year, there shall be 
a license tax in the amount of ten cents ($.10) per one hundred dollars ($100.00) of gross receipts. The License tax is 
assessable, due, and payable by March 1 of each license year.  If a license application is not filed and the tax is not paid 
within the time provided, the amount due shall be subject to interest at ten percent (10%) per annum commencing on the 
first day following the day such tax is due as well as a ten percent (10%) late filing penalty. Please contact the Hanover 
County Treasurer’s Office at (804)365-6050 for the actual interest rate or any other additional payment information. 
 
Licenses will be based on GROSS RECEIPTS that were earned by the business in 2016. The calculation of gross 
receipts for license tax purposes shall be on either the cash or accrual method provided that the method used coincides 
with the method of accounting used for federal and state income tax purposes.   
 
WHO HAS TO FILE AN APPLICATION AND / OR PAY A FEE? 

 
IF YOU ARE A HANOVER BASED CONTRACTOR AND … 

FILE A 
RETURN? 

PAY THE 
LICENSE TAX? 

YES NO YES NO 

…  have gross receipts less than $100,000.00     

…  have gross receipts greater than $100,000.00    
 
 

 
 
IF YOU ARE BASED & LICENSED IN ANOTHER COUNTY AND MEET THE 
REQUIREMENTS OF §6-40 OF THE HANOVER COUNTY CODE AND… 

FILE A 
RETURN? 

PAY THE 
LICENSE TAX? 

YES NO YES NO 

…  have gross receipts less than $25,000.00     

…  have gross receipts greater than $25,000.00 but less than $100,000.00     

…  have gross receipts greater than $100,000.00    
 
 

 
Example: Gross Receipts of $100,001.00 

 
Multiply by the tax rate of .001 ...........…………………..$100,001.00 x .001 = $100.00 
License Cost ..........................................….......................….....………........ = $100.00 

 
  

 
If you require assistance or additional information on this application, please contact the Personal Property Division of the 
Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue at any of the following:  
 

 Telephone:  804-365-6129 
 Email:  commissioner@hanovercounty.gov 
 In Person: Wickham Building, 7497 County Complex Road, Room 107, Hanover, Virginia, 23069 
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